Life Before the Brita

Fast forward through everything everyone else will tell you about freshman year and listen to me. Or don’t listen to me, because every college experience is different and I still don’t know what anthropology really is. I chose to go to school six hours away in a city (factors I didn’t even really consider), which is the bomb and also a little loony. I feel like fist-bumping the universe for making the decision to come to Marquette for a lot of reasons, one of them being that living in a city will teach you a billion things in addition to the billion things you learn in the actual classroom.

Not to be dramatic but going to school in an urban environment isn’t for the faint of heart. Just the other morning I was on the city bus and a shoeless woman was frantically running around the bus, scattering her belongings, and when she finally got off, she yelled something about the “cameras catching everything.” I dunno, I’m probably cursed with some sort of witchcraft now. **shrugs** Seriously though, there’s a lot of great things like awesome coffee shops and adventures and yoga and concerts and amazing service opportunities; it’s just that you have to experience a little bit of crazy to get there sometimes. That’s the kind of stuff you don’t learn in the classroom. How to work a bus system, how to figure out directions, how to be aware of your surroundings and constantly think, “If someone approached me with a blunt object, what would I (read: Jesus {if you’re at Marquette}) do?” We’re just learning street smarts now that other people learn later down the road, when they’re wearing nice suits and Rolex watches that are better robbery material. Us city kids learn it while under-caffeinated and wearing cheap sweatshirts, when the stakes are a little lower.

Between kissing Spiderman upside down and saving Gotham and hailing taxicabs with a cappuccino in hand, I somehow managed to make some pretty awesome friends (as everyone reading this looks around thinking, “Wait, does she mean us? Crap.”) Funny, guys.

Quick shout out to my awesome roommates: we got through life before the Brita, in the days of no air, and had a hilarious time doing it. Also when the going got tough, the tough sang, “It’s a Hard Knock Life.” Thanks girls, for lifting me up and excusing my apparent sleep talking.

A few things you can expect in college: animal rights activists, enthusiastic student organizations trying to sell you baked goods, Frisbees, dumb people, cool people, really cool people, and peanut butter (sorry Maggie*). Some non-kosher advice: the Freshman 15 thing doesn’t have to happen if you don’t want it to, but it’s not the end of the world if your pants get a little tighter. It doesn’t really apply in Milwaukee because we need all the insulation we can get. Also the best way to start a conversation with someone is to give ‘em a compliment. I made one of my coolest friends here by complimenting his hair at a random meeting. Now here’s some hella kosher advice: study whatever you freaking want. It took me a semester to realize I didn’t have to be a health professional, and I pretty much lost my ever-loving mind trying to figure that out. Actually, study what you think you should study, be miserable, and then switch to what you feel you should study. I learned a lot, including how to bs chemistry lab procedures and bounce back after my computer deleted my chemistry lab data. (I’m so sorry to anyone I met/encountered that week.) How I got through a chem lab without accidentally burning my face off, I still don’t know. Because I literally had no idea what was going on the entire time.

People say college is the best four years of your life, but I’d argue that it’s mainly just eating chickenless chicken noodle soup and cleaning out other people’s laundry lint traps. Occasionally you’ll see a dog on campus or cheat the meal system and get a free jug of chocolate milk, so it’s ok to question things in your first year. Of course I’m half kidding, because college is awesome. That being said, college made me appreciate Indy, and let me tell you it’s the best feeling to be proud of where you come from and excited to return. As one of my (paid actor) friends always says, scoop.

 

There’s a cornucopia of things I could add about freshman year, but I don’t think there should be pressure to make this wrap-up a massive firework show. So here’s to conquering being supa fresh and moving into an exciting summer. Frickin ball me.

 

*READ THIS 

And this

Aaaaand this.

I have articulate friends.

And while you’re at it, buy yourself a Brita water filter. It’ll be the best investment of your life.

Standard

One thought on “Life Before the Brita

Leave a Reply

